• Login
sketchucation logo sketchucation
  • Login
ℹ️ GoFundMe | Our friend Gus Robatto needs some help in a challenging time Learn More

Find and replace multiple components?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Newbie Forum
sketchup
30 Posts 9 Posters 12.1k Views
Loading More Posts
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • N Offline
    nickchun
    last edited by 27 Jul 2010, 20:13

    Thanks TIG, I get the gist of what your saying ( only the gist mind) and need to spend time learning ruby before I can make a start. I have no idea if I'm capable of doing it yet though. Changing the handles is simple enough anyway, I just use a horizontal and vertical version of each and use "replace instances".
    On the subject of nesting, perhaps it would be simpler if I made libraries of the whole cabinet in different sizes, types and door styles, and swapped the whole thing.
    I don't uaually show internals so it would be just a box tacked onto the door/drawer.
    Thanks again
    Nick

    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
    • T Offline
      TIG Moderator
      last edited by 28 Jul 2010, 09:08

      The secret is in the component definition's coding so that a ruby can decide which swaps with what... the Ruby code is straight forward enough.

      As you say swapping handles from one type to another is easy done with 'select instances' and then 'replace selected'. You can programmatically get Ruby to that, BUT you'd have a set of 'filters' that look at the component instances' definition's name and if it matches a given pattern then swap that instance's definition for another definition with a name that matches another pattern you have given it... Just imagine doing it manually - you decide on the type of door needed to be swapped - let's say it's type 'A' - in the component browser you find one of the door components that is a type A [there might be many variants] - 'select instances' highlights them, now find the equivalent sized door type 'B' and 'replace selected'. De-select everything and start again on the next type 'A' variant... With the Ruby version all you do it tell the tool what pattern of name 'Door--A' you seek and what pattern to replace it with 'Door--B' - it then makes lists of all of the different variants and processes them in turns and swaps their definitions to match the new name pattern, if there's an equivalent component available. It reports at the end. All it's doing is what you can do manually but automatically and without the risk of error... 😉

      TIG

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • N Offline
        nickchun
        last edited by 30 Jul 2010, 15:10

        Thanks TIG, sorry I'm a bit slow replying. I have just started going through some ruby tutorials and will soon start experimenting. Its got to be worth the effort learning; the possibilities seem endless.......
        Nick

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • J Offline
          JPMays
          last edited by 23 Dec 2010, 21:22

          I'm running into an odd problem with swapping components as well. I have about 200 instances of one component, that I need to swap with another one. If I select an individual component, and right-click to swap, it works fine. If I select multiple, that option is not available. If I use the Component window and right-click on the component and Select All, they are all selected, but the option to Replace Selected is grayed-out and unavailable. What gives?

          Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • G Offline
            Gaieus
            last edited by 24 Dec 2010, 04:45

            When you selected all the instances, do not right click on the definition of this component in the component browser but on the definition of the one you want to replace these instances with. There will be the menu item available...

            Gai...

            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • X Offline
              xombie1912
              last edited by 5 May 2015, 17:59

              @tig said:

              Are your doors [etc] all separate components or scaled versions of the same one?
              If they are scaled then the swap should be seamless.
              If they are separate versions [which is more likely because scaling will affect rail/stile sizes] - e.g. Door-18-24-A, Door-20-24-A, Door-24-24-A etc then to use a scripted 'swapper' you at least need the replacements to follow the same pattern of 'name-coding' - e.g. Door-18-24-B, Door-20-24-B, Door-24-24-B etc - i.e. let's say the coding is Element[Door]-Width[18]-Height[24]-Code[A].
              Once you have a logical way of encoding an element's name I can show you how to make a script that will go through the selected components and find their Element, Width, Height and Code and then swap for available elements with another code. A version that would run in the Ruby Console [initially at least] would take the form swap_components('-A','-B') - it would find all code-A instances in your selection and swap them with any available code-B versions - either using those already loaded into the SKP or perhaps available in a specific set of folders in the ../Components folder - e.g. a /Doors folder and a /Drawers folder... It relatively easy to find components that have a name ending in '-A' and find and the source equivalently name one, but with its name ending in '-B'. The secret is in having a logical naming convention for components that might get swapped - I used A, B etc as the 'Code' but it could be more complex - swap_components('-A-Oak-Antique','-B-Maple-Limewash') etc etc...

              hello TIG can you help me for 1plugin i want to made i have the idea but i dont know about ruby console if you are interested please send me a private message
              thanks a lot

              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • A Offline
                antioche
                last edited by 4 Aug 2015, 07:19

                Hi xombie1912 and TIG,

                I would be interested in using the ruby script that you described, that is to say, run through the selection and swap components that match a specific name pattern with others.

                More specifically in my case, I want to find modified dynamic components (automatically named by SketchUp for instance Name_of_initial_component#3 ) to revert them with the original component definition (Name_of_initial_component).

                The reason for doing this is that I have create a Room dynamic component that calculates its floor area using the FACEAREA property. Inside each rooms are dynamic Windows and Door components. I need to have a separate instance of these windows/doors something else in the model to create a graphical schedule of doors and windows.

                However, I need the Room dynamic components to recalculate FACEAREA() of a certain material, but this calculation is only updated when the component is redrawn (Right Click > Dynamic Components > Redraw). Unfortunately, this redraw causes all dynamic components inside them to become unique components (hence being renamed Name_of_initial_component#1 instead of Name_of_initial_component), so that they are now treated as separate definitions (although they are still identical) and the link to the schedule is broken (i.e. updating one does not update the other...). Not sure why...

                The script would allow me to quickly run through the Room components and reassign the correct window/door definitions to the components it contains.

                Alternatively, if you know a way to refresh a FACEAREA() calculation in a dynamic component without requiring a redraw? That would be my preferred solution...

                Any suggestion or draft function of this Ruby function you described?

                Cheers,

                Teebs

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • T Offline
                  tenquin
                  last edited by 10 Sept 2017, 18:21

                  Boa Tarde!

                  TIG, poderia nos auxiliar como desenvolver o plugin para substituir portas?
                  Desde já agradeço.

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • T Offline
                    TIG Moderator
                    last edited by 11 Sept 2017, 10:01

                    @tenquin

                    Why do you need a plugin to swap doors?
                    Years ago I explained how to do it with the native tools...

                    Por que você precisa de um plugin para trocar as portas?
                    Anos atrás, expliquei como fazê-lo com as ferramentas nativas...

                    TIG

                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • A Offline
                      antioche
                      last edited by 11 Sept 2017, 10:07

                      Hi TIG,
                      I suspect Tenquin may be referring to my post just above, which would involve relinking identical dynamic components that have lost their original definition due to a redraw action within nested dynamic components (see my post). Your suggested approach in your original post would not work, as the redrawn DCs get renamed as unique (although they are not).
                      Any suggestion on how to achieve this?

                      Cheers,

                      Teebs

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • T Offline
                        TIG Moderator
                        last edited by 11 Sept 2017, 10:37

                        OK

                        Let's consider this...
                        The original component is named [let's say] "DC" - so its unique-ified siblings are named DC#1, DC#2 etc...
                        So we can search the model's definitions for matching 'patterns' and replace their instances...
                        The naming has to be logical, and all instances the same...

                        
                        model=Sketchup.active_model
                        defns=model.definitions
                        name="DC" # perhaps you'd use an inputbox to get this 'name' ?
                        defn=defns[name]
                        dcs=defns.find_all{|d| d.name =~ /^#{name}#/ }
                        # note how 'name' starts the match-pattern and has a following #
                        model.start_operation("Un-unique #{name}", true) # one-step undo
                        puts "Un-unique #{name}"
                        dcs.each{|d|
                          p d.name # to see their names listed in the Ruby Console
                          d.instances.each{|i| i.definition = defn }
                          # replace with original
                        }
                        model.commit_operation
                        puts "Done"
                        
                        

                        This works within nested components etc...
                        You could check that the geometry/size etc of the instance of the original defn matches the instance of the to-be-un-uniqued definition, but that requires more convoluted code...

                        TIG

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • A Offline
                          antioche
                          last edited by 11 Sept 2017, 13:09

                          Many thanks for the quick feedback, TIG!
                          Seems to make a lot of sense. Not able to test right now (deadline looming on another project) but will test and feedback.

                          Teebs

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • T Offline
                            tenquin
                            last edited by 11 Sept 2017, 19:46

                            Olá TIG!
                            Boa tarde!
                            Obrigado pelo retorno.

                            Desculpe se não soube me expressar corretamente, na verdade preciso que o plugin troque todos os componentes que tem um parâmetro específico, no caso o parâmetro "modeloptions=portas inferiores"

                            Desde já agradeço.


                            Esses seriam os parâmetros de exemplo


                            Essa seria o componente a ser trocado, sendo que teria que manter as dimensões lenx, leny, lenz e posições x,y,z....


                            Essas seriam as portas de troca e estariam em uma biblioteca...

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                            • T Offline
                              TIG Moderator
                              last edited by 11 Sept 2017, 20:15

                              @tenquin

                              Yes, that's nothing like it !

                              You could try editing the code...

                              
                              ###....
                              dcs.each{|d|
                                next unless d.get_attribute("dynamic_attributes", "modeloptions", "") == "portas inferiores"
                                # this skips if it's not that type of dc ???
                                p d.name # to see their names listed in the Ruby Console
                                d.instances.each{|i| i.definition = defn }
                                # replace with original
                              }
                              ###...
                              
                              

                              TIG

                              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • T Offline
                                tenquin
                                last edited by 11 Sept 2017, 23:55

                                Obrigado mais uma vez TIG!

                                Vou estudar mais um pouco e tentar fazer,
                                sou novo em programação mas vou tentar até conseguir. rsrs

                                👍

                                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                • T Offline
                                  tenquin
                                  last edited by 28 Dec 2017, 21:06

                                  @tig said:

                                  OK

                                  Let's consider this...
                                  The original component is named [let's say] "DC" - so its unique-ified siblings are named DC#1, DC#2 etc...
                                  So we can search the model's definitions for matching 'patterns' and replace their instances...
                                  The naming has to be logical, and all instances the same...

                                  
                                  > model=Sketchup.active_model
                                  > defns=model.definitions
                                  > name="DC" # perhaps you'd use an inputbox to get this 'name' ?
                                  > defn=defns[name]
                                  > dcs=defns.find_all{|d| d.name =~ /^#{name}#/ }
                                  > # note how 'name' starts the match-pattern and has a following #
                                  > model.start_operation("Un-unique #{name}", true) # one-step undo
                                  > puts "Un-unique #{name}"
                                  > dcs.each{|d|
                                  >   p d.name # to see their names listed in the Ruby Console
                                  >   d.instances.each{|i| i.definition = defn }
                                  >   # replace with original
                                  > }
                                  > model.commit_operation
                                  > puts "Done"
                                  > 
                                  

                                  This works within nested components etc...
                                  You could check that the geometry/size etc of the instance of the original defn matches the instance of the to-be-un-uniqued definition, but that requires more convoluted code...

                                  Olá TIG

                                  Desculpe minha insistência.
                                  Há alguns meses conversamos sobre o código acima, que faz um script que substitui componentes.
                                  Ainda não consegui fazer com que funcionasse, criei um componente com nome DC e copiei e colei o código no console Sketchup,mas não obtive resultado.
                                  Estou me dedicando a Ruby, mas mesmo depois de ler o livro Automatic Skechup, não consegui identificar o que está errado...

                                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                  • T Offline
                                    TIG Moderator
                                    last edited by 29 Dec 2017, 19:05

                                    What results do you get ?
                                    The Ruby Console will show errors and output.

                                    You are looking for a component definition name, NOT a component instance name.
                                    They are different things.
                                    The component's name is displayed in the Components Browser.
                                    Instances can have different names from their definition - this shown in Entity info - if it's selected...

                                    TIG

                                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                    • T Offline
                                      tenquin
                                      last edited by 29 Dec 2017, 20:43

                                      @TIG

                                      Obrigado mais uma vez por responder.
                                      Não retorna nenhum erro, porém nenhum resultado também. Segue uma imagem.

                                      Script.JPG

                                      Minha intenção é buscar os componentes por atributos dinâmicos ao invés de por nome, se poder me dá uma luz de como ficaria o código assim eu agradeço, se não, depois tentarei editar o código para se adequar ao que desejo.

                                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                      • T Offline
                                        TIG Moderator
                                        last edited by 30 Dec 2017, 18:30

                                        What else do you expect ?
                                        You have 1 component definition named 'DC'.
                                        If you had more using that name pattern - e.g. 'DC#1', DC#2' etc.
                                        Then DC would prevail !

                                        The code is working just fine - but your model has got nothing in it to be processed !

                                        TIG

                                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                        • T Offline
                                          tenquin
                                          last edited by 30 Dec 2017, 18:37

                                          Perdão TIG.
                                          Você tem razão, eu não estava sabendo usar o código corretamente.
                                          Agora me parece que está funcionando.
                                          Obrigado

                                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                          • 1
                                          • 2
                                          • 1 / 2
                                          • First post
                                            Last post
                                          Buy SketchPlus
                                          Buy SUbD
                                          Buy WrapR
                                          Buy eBook
                                          Buy Modelur
                                          Buy Vertex Tools
                                          Buy SketchCuisine
                                          Buy FormFonts

                                          Advertisement